Trainer, Manager and Staff Permissions

For each Trainerize account, there can only be one account owner. But to help you better manage your business and assign specific responsibilities to team members, there are a variety of different trainer roles that can be assigned. 

The four trainer roles from the highest level of authority (after the account owner) to the lowest are as follows: Admin, Manager, Shared Trainer, and Trainer. 

 

General Permissions by Role

 

Owner

Admin

Manager

Shared Trainer

Trainer

Timeline Activities

Entire Business

 

 

Entire Business

Only locations assigned to Manager

 

 

Only locations assigned to Shared Trainer

 

 

Only clients assigned to Trainer

 

Master Workouts and Programs

Create for, edit and delete in the Shared, Personal and Browse by Trainer folders

Create for, edit and delete in the Shared, Personal and Browse by Trainer folders

Cannot edit, add to or delete from the Shared folders.

Create, edit and delete in their own “Personal” folders and Browse by Trainer at their assigned locations.

Can only edit their “Personal” folders.

Can only edit their “Personal” folders.

Clients List

Access to everything. Can add new clients, deactivate and reactivate clients.

Access to everything. Can add new clients, deactivate and reactivate clients.

Access to all clients at assigned locations only. Can add new clients, deactivate and reactivate clients for any trainers at assigned location.

Access to all clients at assigned locations only. Can add new clients, deactivate and reactivate clients for themselves at assigned location.

Access to clients assigned to the Trainer only.

 

Can add new clients and deactivate clients for themselves only. Cannot view the “Deactivated Clients” section.

Trainers List

Add and view all trainers

Add and view all trainers

Can view all Trainers at the location(s) assigned to them (including Admins and the Owner).

Managers can only edit the Shared Trainers and Regular Trainers at their assigned locations. They cannot edit other Managers or Admin.

No access

No access

Groups and Challenges

Can create groups and challenges.


Can add clients/trainers from any location to groups and challenges. 


Access to join other business groups and challenges.

Can create groups and challenges.


Can add clients/trainers from any location to groups and challenges. 


Access to join other business groups and challenges.

Can create groups and challenges. 


Can add clients/trainers (from assigned locations) to groups and challenges. 


Access to join other business groups and challenges.

Can create groups and challenges. 


Can add clients/ trainers (from assigned locations) to groups and challenges. 


Access to join other business groups and challenges.

 

Can create groups and challenges. 


Can only add assigned clients to groups and challenges. 

Can add other trainers to groups. Cannot add other trainers to challenges.


Access to join other business groups and challenges.

Access to company-wide Add-ons and Settings

Yes

Yes

No

No

No

 

Class booking

The tables below show which clients trainers have access to when creating and editing class offerings.
  • Note: Clients will be able to self-book into any class offering based on their location despite which trainer they are assigned to.
 
Trainer Role Action Which Clients Can they Access
Owner Booking Appointments for Any Trainer + Themselves Can Access All Clients
Admin Booking Appointments for Any Trainer + Themselves Can Access All Clients
Manager Booking Appointments for Any Trainer + Themselves Can Access Clients at the manager's location (All clients if there is only one location)
Shared Trainer Booking Appointments for themselves Clients that are assigned to Themselves only
Regular Trainer Booking Appointments for themselves Clients that are assigned to themselves only
 
 
 

Editing Class Bookings: 

This table displays what actions can be done by specific trainer roles when it comes to editing a class offering.
 
Screen_Shot_2023-03-07_at_11.52.13.png
 
Notes:
*This only applies for editing classes, when editing 1/1 appts you will not be able to edit the trainer role (as this appointment type would be booked for that specific trainer). 
**Managers can edit trainers that are at their locations only.

 

Admin

Admins are meant to help manage the business. They have access to all client and payment activity business-wide and have permission to manage the business settings (access to the Settings section) with the exception of the billing information ("Billing" section). Think of the Admin as a "second Owner" but without access to the company's "Billing" section. Only the Account Owner has access to the billing information and the ability to upgrade, downgrade, view invoices etc. This role is best suited for a business partner or an administrative assistant to the owner.  

 

Manager

Managers are meant to manage a certain group of trainers. For this reason, they have the permission to manage trainers and client at their assigned location(s). Managers can be assigned to multiple locations. 

 

Shared Trainer

Shared trainers have access to all clients and payment activity at their assigned location(s). They cannot make any business-wide changes (no access to the "Settings" section) and are meant to be training their own clients only with the flexibility of accessing other clients in the business. For example, in case there is a need to cover for another trainer a shared trainer would be able to do so since they have access all clients (at their assigned location). 

 

Trainer

Although trainers can be assigned to multiple locations, they only have access to the clients assigned to them and their payment activity. Trainers have the lowest level of permission and are meant to train and have access to their own clients only. No access to the "Settings" section either. 

 

Stripe Integrated Payments Permissions

 

Trainerize Pay Setup

Manage Payments

Sell Products

Owner

X

X

X

Admin

 

X

X

Manager

   

X

Shared Trainer

   

X

Trainer

   

X

 


Related Articles

  

This article was last updated on

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.