Membership Control: how to automatically deactivate clients with expired products or failed payments

Formerly known as “Auto Deactivation”, Membership Control is an easy way to control who has access to your app without having to manually update the status for each of your clients.

Automatically deactivating clients through Membership Control is helpful to trainers who are managing a high number of clients or who offer products and services with high turnover (such as challenges and boot camps) because it quickly opens up spots in your account for new clients.

 

How to turn Membership Control on/off?

You can control your options for Membership Control in Payments > Setup > Membership Control. It is turned off by default but you can go into your Setup page anytime to turn Auto-deactivate on.

Screenshot_at_Apr_07_12-24-52.png

Please note that Membership Control is universally applied to all your clients, business-wide. This cannot be modified on a client-by-client basis. 


What happens when Membership Control is on?

When Membership Control is turned on, 2 things happen:

  1. Clients must purchase a Core Product before they can purchase any Add-ons
  2. Once all of a client’s active products (Core Products or Add-ons) expire, they will be automatically deactivated and their app access revoked. 

If Membership Control is turned on and a client’s Core Product expires but they still have active add-ons, they won’t be able auto-deactivated until their final Add-on expires. In the meantime, they won’t be able to purchase any additional add-ons unless they first purchase another core product.

 

Membership Control is On - Example 1: A recurring main product gets canceled

In a recurring product, a client can request to cancel their subscription. When that happens, the auto-renew for the next upcoming billing cycle is canceled.

At the end of the current billing patio, the product expires. Once that happens, the client is automatically deactivated and their app access revoked.

mceclip1.png

 

Membership Control is On - Example 2: Payment for a recurring Core Product fails

A client with a recurring product loses their credit card and forgets to update their payment information in the app. They get multiple reminders but ultimately forget to enter their new credit card details but ultimately allow their subscription to lapse.

As a result, the system marks the Core Product as failed and cancels the auto-renew. Once that happens, the client is automatically deactivated and their app access revoked.

 

mceclip2.png

What happens when Membership Control is off?

When Membership Control is turned off, clients can purchase Add-ons freely without first needing to purchase a Core Product and their app access will need to be controlled manually by their trainer.

Queuing products

Whether or not you turn on Membership Control, you can keep clients training longer without any breaks in their app access by adding products to their upcoming product queue. 

You can queue up to 1 Core Product per client. It is not possible to queue Add-ons.

If a client has a product queued, they will be automatically switched onto their next product when their previous one ends.

Queuing products - example 1: Upsell to the next package

A common sales scenario is a trainer selling a fixed-term training product, and upselling the client to the next phase. The client can purchase before the end date, and have the product automatically be queued up. If the client decides at any point to not purchase the next product, Trainerize automatically deactivates the client once the last main product runs out. 

 

mceclip0.png

 

 


Related Article

 

This article was last updated on

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.